EDF Energy South West Media Awards 2013

The winners of the EDF Energy South West Media Awards 2013 were announced on 6 June 2013 at Exeter Chiefs, Sandy Park, in Exeter.

Now in their ninth year, the awards aim to honour the best in journalism across the South West region – Cornwall, Devon, Somerset, Bristol, Bath, Wiltshire and Gloucestershire.

The Gloucestershire Echo scooped Front Page of the Year for its 'Street rocked by blast' cover. Philip Bowern at Western Morning News was named Specialist Journalist of the Year and Becky Sheaves was named Columnist of the Year.

Sister title The Herald, Plymouth took home several awards including Daily Newspaper of the Year, Community Campaign of the Year for its health and wellbeing campaign loveLIFE along with two individual prizes – Newcomer of the Year for Rebecca Ricks and News Photographer of the Year for John Allen.

Click here for a full list of winners.

New! Check out our Media Jobs board for PR and Journalism vacancies Learn more