Editorial team for the i paper announced

i newspaper

Following the news in February of the transfer of the i paper over to Johnston Press ownership, the new editorial team for the daily newspaper has been announced as follows:

Oliver Duff remains as editor, with Andrew Webster deputy editor, Fran Yeoman assistant editor (news), Siobhan Norton assistant editor (production) and Denise Thompson PA to the editor. Hanna Tavner remains assistant editor and editor of the iWeekend section.

The features team consists of features editor Rebecca Armstrong, deputy features editor and correspondent Rob Hastings and feature writer Chloë Hamilton.

Jessica Barrett remains as People editor.

The news team is fronted by assistant news editors Andrew Johnson and Richard Jinman, supported by a team of reporters and writers including chief reporter Cahal Milmo, health correspondent Paul Gallagher, Northern correspondent Dean Kirby, Scotland editor Chris Green, political editor Nigel Morris, science & environment correspondent Tom Bawden and writer Katie Grant, who will cover news as well as comment and features.

In addition, former Italy correspondent Michael Day returns to London as foreign editor and Memphis Barker is appointed comment editor, joining from Independent Voices, the comment section of The Independent‘s website.

Joining from The Telegraph as business editor is Elizabeth Anderson.

The arts team is headed by arts editor Alice Jones, seconded by deputy arts editor Hugh Montgomery. Adam Sherwin is named as arts and media correspondent.

The sports team comprises sports editor Ally McKay and chief sports correspondent Kevin Garside, alongside sport executive Matt Tench, designer Julian Cooper and writer Matt Butler.

On the digital front, Daisy Wyatt has been named as digital deputy news editor. Serina Sandhu joins the team full time as digital reporter. A digital news editor has yet to be announced.

The picture team is headed by picture editor Sophie Batterbury and assistant picture editor Mike Spillard. Tim Alden is art director and Henrik Pettersson graphics editor.

The production team has been announced as deputy production editor Julian Hills, assistant production editor Martyn Kent, sub-editors and production journalists Emma Hutchings, Matt HryciwAmy Burns, Richard Blackmore, Stuart Price, Karl McDonald, Jeff Robson and John Clarke, also looking after the quizzes. Sub-editor Robert Epstein will be working on iWeekend, doing production and commissioning work on the section.



New! Check out our Media Jobs board for PR and Journalism vacancies Learn more