Media Bulletin

Radio Academy Awards 2014 winners revealed

By Staff

13th May 2014


The 2014 Radio Academy Awards took place last night (12 May) at London's Grosvenor House with honours given out to radio stations, programmes and personalities at the BBC and commercial radio.

BBC Radio 2 won UK station of the year, while BBC Radio Ulster and BBC Tees won station of the year 1 million plus and under 1 million respectively.

In the news and current affairs programme category, BBC Radio 4's PM won Gold and LBC's weekly phone-in with the deputy prime minister, 'Call Clegg', won Silver.

National radio journalist of the year went to LBC's Tom Swarbrick and local radio journalist of the year went to the BBC Radio Norfolk news team.

The Frank Skinner Show on Bauer Media's Absolute Radio won Gold for best speech programme. BBC Radio 5 live's Victoria Derbyshire came top of the speech radio broadcaster of the year category, while the station's Saturday morning presenter Danny Baker won Gold for speech radio personality of the year.

Greg James on BBC Radio 1 came top in the best entertainment programme category, while BBC Radio 2's Jamie Cullum won Gold for best music programme.

Capital Breakfast with Dave Berry and Lisa Snowdon on London's 95.8 Capital FM won Gold for breakfast show of the year 10 million plus. Former LBC and Absolute Radio presenter Iain Lee won Gold for breakfast show of the year under 10 million for his daily morning show on BBC Three Counties Radio.

A full list of winners can be found here.

Related news

28th April 2017 Consumer

Rowan Pelling launches The Amorist

28th April 2017 National and Regional Press

Jon Laurence named Head of Digital at Channel 4 News

28th April 2017 National and Regional Press

BBC Radio Bristol's Nigel Dando retires

New! Check out our Media Jobs board for PR and Journalism vacancies Learn more