Winners of the Press Awards 2012 announced

The winners of the Press Awards 2012 were announced at a ceremony at the Lancaster London Hotel in London on Thursday 7 March.

The awards celebrate the best in British national newspaper journalism published during 2012 either on paper or digitally.

The Times dominated the main accolades of the evening, winning the Newspaper of the Year Award, while the paper’s investigative reporting into tax avoidance by celebrities won Scoop of the Year, News Team of the Year and News Reporter of the Year.

Sister paper, The Sunday Times, took home the most awards of the evening winning five prizes in a year. Its chief sports reporter David Walsh scooped the Sports Journalist of the Year award whilst the sports team won the Sports Team of the Year accolade.

For a full list of winners click here.

New! Check out our Media Jobs board for PR and Journalism vacancies Learn more