Sony Radio Academy Award winners for 2013 announced

The 31st annual Sony Radio Academy Awards took place on Monday evening, with BBC Radio 4 winning six Golds. The station's flagship Today Programme took the top breakfast show prize, while its host John Humphrys went home with a Gold for Radio Journalism of the Year.

BBC Radio 1 left with five Golds including Best News & Current Affairs Programme for Newsbeat.

For commercial radio, Absolute Radio won two Golds courtesy of the station's breakfast host Christian O'Connell who picked up Music Radio Personality of the Year and Best Use of Branded Content.

O'Connell becomes a Sony record holder with a career total of ten Golds in ten years. The judges said: "Christian is funny, smart and a great storyteller… he uses the radio medium cleverly and creatively." The Christian O'Connell Breakfast Show also achieved Silver for Breakfast Show of the Year (10 million plus).

Classic FM won the inaugural UK Radio Brand of the Year, while BBC Radio 5 Live was crowned UK Station of the Year and Bauer Media's Metro Radio was named Station of the Year (1 million plus).

Dermot O'Leary's show on BBC Radio 2 beat BBC Radio 6 Music's Lauren Laverne and Jarvis Cocker's Sunday Service to Gold for Best Music Programme. The Danny Baker Show came top in the Best Entertainment Programme category and BBC Radio 4's Eddie Mair won Speech Radio Broadcaster.

A full list of winners at the Sony Radio Academy Awards 2013 can be found here.

New! Check out our Media Jobs board for PR and Journalism vacancies Learn more